Write Me A Poem

Love poems worn out by my cynicism,

Four biographies and an Oscar Wilde.

Éluard and a few dead gods —

All my books

Beaten, thrown to the ground.

For a while, I am done

Revisiting lines I know way too well

After sleepless nights and paper cuts.

My fingerprint-memories are on every page

.

I’d ask you for verses, but you’re out

Under the lights of an unknown realm

Enjoying all the things I’ve taught myself

How to hate

.

After a dream or two, in the morning,

Write me a poem about anything you like

Before I lie and say

I didn’t even miss you tonight

.

ML

5 thoughts on “Write Me A Poem

Leave a Reply

