War Zone

You call our dead romance a war zone,

Claiming that my words are fiery daggers

Stabbing your heart repeatedly… Deeper

And deeper in your being.

I listen to everything, numb in my comfortable bed,

Drifting away while you yell and scream

On the phone, miles and miles away

From me

.
.
.

Your insanity killed the last sigh,

The final hope I had for us.

It took everything away from me —

And now you ask for more, as if

The inked words on your skin were a contract

Between the two of us… No,

You don’t own my heart

.

I can offer you my friendship,

My warm hands and my voice, but

My heart is too far to be reached

.

Cupid loves playing games with us

.

ML

8 thoughts on “War Zone

Leave a Reply

