Mom Bought Fake Flowers

image

Disappointment. I stare at her. She

Looks so thrilled. When I asked, she said

I’m not rich enough to spend money on flowers

Every single day!

I nodded, but my thoughts wanted to tell her that

She should have her own

Garden

.

Even though I stayed quiet,

I heard her voice say

Real flowers

Die. They always die

In the end

.

Back to my isolation,

I stare at the ceiling and wish

I could have a

Suicide cigarette, but I’m not

A smoker. I burn my favorite incense and go

Back to bed, aware that

It won’t have the same effect

.

White roses dazzle my senses

.

ML

3 thoughts on “Mom Bought Fake Flowers

Leave a Reply

