After Lunch Thought

We eat to stay alive… We savor

Reminders of mortality. Without

The pleasure of devouring, we

Fall asleep in forgetfulness

.

The old

Repetition of a cycle born

When Prometheus brought us

The fire.

Death lies in my

Vegetarian meal, I think to myself

.

My carnivorous sister

Shakes her head; she knows the

Look in my face

.

Sipping on my cup of cold

Tea and self pity, I realize that

I am cursed…

I put too much thought into a plate of

Lentil salad

And slices of

Baked eggplant

.

ML

3 thoughts on “After Lunch Thought

Leave a Reply

