Advice

I wonder

If I love the inspiration you breathe

Into my heart

More than I love you. For your own sake,

Never fall in love with me —

Never love a poet

.

I wonder if I love the inspiration

That your eyes and beauty fill my life with

More than I love you

.

Or maybe I love you because you are

Walking poetry.

I won’t ever know for sure,

But never fall for me

.

Keep your innocence and normality

Away from my utopian,

Indecipherable

Romantic ideas

.

ML

.

PS. Dear Y, now I’m thinking if I should delete this poem. I hate making you sad, even if I didn’t mean to. Read this poem with your heart tomorrow; you should focus on the line that says you’re walking poetry. Remember that I’ve read a lot of Pessoa today, and that’s probably why the extremely negative advice.

2 thoughts on “Advice

Leave a Reply

